Fulton Homes News

  • Share

Fulton Homes Awards Peoria Educator 'Teacher of the Week' Honors


Cheresa Leonard Exceeds Expectations With Her Teaching Passion

Parents at Peoria's Sundance Elementary say Cheresa Leonard has a selfless and creative approach to teaching that makes her students succeed. Fulton Homes is honoring this second grade teacher as this week's 'Teacher of the Week'.

Those who know her say Leonard commits herself to her students and goes above-and-beyond the classroom every day. She was nominated by Amy Wright, a mother of one of her students. Wright described Leonard as a sincere educator. Whether it's tutoring students after class, giving advice or just lending a helping hand, students and parents agree that Leonard is a role model for all other educators to emulate.

"She makes a difference in each child's life by facilitating a love for learning and instilling a sense of accomplishment in all of her students," Wright said.

When Leonard is not teaching, she is helping students in summer school or checking up on past students' successes. Wright added that Leonard's natural rapport with children makes them more enthused about learning.

"Cheresa Leonard inspires her students to exceed expectations in and out of the classroom," Fulton Homes CEO Douglas Fulton said. "The camaraderie she creates provides them with a supportive path to success. Fulton Homes is proud to honor Valley educators like Ms. Leonard."

Fulton Homes invites students and peers across the Valley to recognize those teachers who make a difference in other's lives with the 12th Annual Fulton Homes Teacher of the Week program, in partnership with KNIX Country Radio. The popular program, which serves to honor outstanding educators, continues throughout the school year, ending in June of 2012.

Teachers nominated will be entered for a chance to win a prize package that includes $300 in cash plus prizes from Fulton Homes and the Dairy Council of Arizona. The winning teacher will be surprised and presented the award by KNIX radio personality, Carolyn Coffey. Recipients of the award will also be spotlighted on the KNIX Morning Show with Ben and Matt, where they will receive special recognition on their Friday show between 6:20 - 7:20 a.m.

At the end of the school year, in June of 2012, the 34 winning teachers will be honored at a special luncheon, where one outstanding teacher will be chosen as the Fulton Homes "Teacher of the Year." Students can nominate their favorite teacher for Fulton Homes' Teacher of the Week by submitting a brief form at any Fulton Homes location or online at knixcountry.com. Winners are chosen based on their commitment to education, career achievements and impact on students' lives.

For more information about Fulton Homes Teacher of the Week, visit www.fultonhomes.com and click on the Fulton Foundation link, or visit knixcountry.com, keyword "Teacher."

[{"text": "Fulton Homes","href":"/news/fulton-homes","nodes":[{"text": "2018 ENERGY STAR® Partner of the Year","href":"/news/fulton-homes/2018-energy-star-partner-of-the-year","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Indoor AirPLUS Award 2017","href":"/news/fulton-homes/indoor-air-plus-award-2017","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fulton Homes New Patriotic Commercials","href":"/news/fulton-homes/new-patriotic-commercials","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Champions of Energy Efficiency","href":"/news/fulton-homes/champions-of-energy-efficiency","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Glennwilde Opening","href":"/news/fulton-homes/glennwilde","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fuel Up At Home","href":"/news/fulton-homes/fuel-up-at-home","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":true,"selected":false},"backColor":"#CCCCCC"},{"text": "Fulton Foundation","href":"/news/fulton-foundation","nodes":[{"text": "ALS Ice Bucket Challenge","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/als-ice-bucket-challenge","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Suns Charities 3-Point Zone 2017","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/3-point-zone-2017","nodes":[{"text": "Suns Charities 3-Point Zone Contest","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/3-point-zone-2017/3-point-zone-2017-devin-booker","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Suns Charities 3-Point Zone Donation","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/3-point-zone-2017/3-point-zone-2017-donation","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Water Safety","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety","nodes":[{"text": "2 Seconds is Too Long 2018","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/2-seconds_2018","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fence Patrol 2017","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/fence-patrol-2017","nodes":[{"text": "Fence Patrol Winner - Davis Family","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/fence-patrol-2017/article299","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fence Patrol Winner - Willows Family","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/fence-patrol-2017/willows-family","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fence Patrol Winner - Schwenck Family","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/fence-patrol-2017/schwenck-family","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fence Patrol Winner - Hyde Family","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/fence-patrol-2017/hyde-family","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Drowning Prevention Tips","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/drowning-prevention","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "University Education","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education","nodes":[{"text": "ASU gets $100M Gift","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/asu-100-million","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Mary Lou College of Educaton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/mary-lou-fulton-college-of-education","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "ASU Names Fulton Center","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/asu-fulton-center","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "BYU College Renamed","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/byu-college-renamed","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Youth Education","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education","nodes":[{"text": "Be KOOL Stay in School","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/be-kool-stay-in-school","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Teacher of the Week 2014-2015","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015","nodes":[{"text": "Teacher of the Year 2015 - Rachel MacDonald","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/teacher-of-the-year-2015","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Molly Singer","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/molly-singer","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Rae Ormsby","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/rae-ormsby","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Denise Murphy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/denise-murphy","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Janet Brown","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/janet-brown","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Cassandra Anderson","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/cassandra-anderson","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Amy Derryberry","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/amy-derryberry","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Tammi Hausman","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/tammi-hausman","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Mark Aralica","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/mark-aralica","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Rachel MacDonald","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/rachel-macdonald","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Stacey Orest","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/stacey-orest","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Steve Norton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/steve-norton","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Packs for Kids","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/Packs-For-Kids","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "S.O.S for Teachers School Supplies","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/sos-for-teacher-supplies","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Stuff The Bus 2016","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/stuff-the-bus-2016","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Youth Assistance Foundation","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/youth-assistance-foundation","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Noon Salute 2017-18","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017","nodes":[{"text": "March Winner Dobson HS","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/article317","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "February Winner Cocopah MS Jazz Choir","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/cocopah-jazz-choir","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "January Winner Camo Verde HS Concert Choir","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/campo-verde-concert-choir","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "December Winner Chaparral HS Symphonic Orchestra","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/chaparral-symphonic-orchestra","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "November Winner Moon Valley HS Vocal Ensemble","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/moon-valley-vocal-ensemble","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "September Winner Mesquite HS Marching Band","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/article303","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "NS Winner Chandler High School Band","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/chandler-hs-band","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "NS Winner Ironwood High School Excelsis Choir","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/ironwood-excelsis-choir","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Books and Toys for Girls and Boys - 2017","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/books-and-toys-drive-2017","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Cause for Paws","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/cause-for-paws","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fly the Flag 2016","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/fly-the-flag-2016","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Philanthropy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy","nodes":[{"text": "2010 Hearthstone Humanitarian Award","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/hearthstone-humanitarian-award","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "50 Most Generous of 2007","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/50-most-generous","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Teaching Others How to Give","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/teaching-other-how-to-give","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Chronicles of Philanthropy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/chronicles-of-philanthropy","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Katrina Relief Efforts","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/katrina","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Non Profit Submission Form","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/non-profit-submission-form","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Mary Lou Fulton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/mary-lou","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Feed My Starving Children","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/fmsc","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":true,"selected":false},"backColor":"#CCCCCC"}]