Fulton Homes News

  • Share

For Phoenix Mom, 'Splash' Was Terrifying


Fulton Homes Fence Patrol installation can't come too soon.

Drowning is often called the "silent killer" because there is so little sound when a child falls into a pool, usually no more than a quiet splash. Once a child has fallen in, the water muffles any cries for help.

Jerica Thompson heard that splash when her 2-year-old son fell into the deep end of the family pool. Fortunately, she was cleaning the pool and was able to react quickly.

"All of a sudden I heard a loud splash and looked over to see my son had fall into the deep end," she said. "I jumped in, clothing and all. This made me realize need to put up a pool fence as soon as possible. It terrifies me to think of what could have happened if I was not outside with him."

On Tuesday, June 19, there will be one more barrier between her son and the family pool. Thompson and her family are the seventh winners of a free pool fence from Fulton Homes. The family's new pool fence will be installed on Tuesday, June 19, beginning at 6:30 a.m. Media are invited to attend; the details are listed below.

"We always tell parents not to allow their young children to be out near the pool alone, and this family's story has a happy ending because the mother was with her son," said Doug Fulton, CEO of Fulton Homes. "This experience only re-enforces that adults can never stop watching children around water, not even for a few seconds."

According to Children's Safety Zone, water-related incidents and fatalities are higher in 2012 and 2011 than they had been in previous years.

The Fence Patrol program includes a fence as well as installation by Ironman Pool Fence. Fences are specifically designed to meet city codes for optimum safety. Valley residents are encouraged to nominate themselves or a deserving family for a free pool fence. A properly installed pool barrier prevents a child from getting over, under or through it to gain access to the pool or spa.

Arizona pool fence laws state that all residential pools must be enclosed by a barrier. Families with children under 6 must also have a barrier blocking access to the pool from the house. Some cities allow door alarms in place of the pool barrier. Some older homes are exempt from the laws, but most homes must add a fence if they are remodeled or sold.

Interested parties have until August 7, 2012, to nominate themselves or someone else for a pool fence by logging on to www.kmle108.com and clicking on the Fence Patrol icon. Or, for more information call (602) 452-1000.

[{"text": "Fulton Homes","href":"/news/fulton-homes","nodes":[{"text": "2018 ENERGY STAR® Partner of the Year","href":"/news/fulton-homes/2018-energy-star-partner-of-the-year","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Indoor AirPLUS Award 2017","href":"/news/fulton-homes/indoor-air-plus-award-2017","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fulton Homes New Patriotic Commercials","href":"/news/fulton-homes/new-patriotic-commercials","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Champions of Energy Efficiency","href":"/news/fulton-homes/champions-of-energy-efficiency","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Glennwilde Opening","href":"/news/fulton-homes/glennwilde","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fuel Up At Home","href":"/news/fulton-homes/fuel-up-at-home","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":true,"selected":false},"backColor":"#CCCCCC"},{"text": "Fulton Foundation","href":"/news/fulton-foundation","nodes":[{"text": "ALS Ice Bucket Challenge","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/als-ice-bucket-challenge","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Suns Charities 3-Point Zone 2017","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/3-point-zone-2017","nodes":[{"text": "Suns Charities 3-Point Zone Contest","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/3-point-zone-2017/3-point-zone-2017-devin-booker","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Suns Charities 3-Point Zone Donation","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/3-point-zone-2017/3-point-zone-2017-donation","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Water Safety","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety","nodes":[{"text": "2 Seconds is Too Long 2018","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/2-seconds_2018","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fence Patrol 2017","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/fence-patrol-2017","nodes":[{"text": "Fence Patrol Winner - Davis Family","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/fence-patrol-2017/article299","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fence Patrol Winner - Willows Family","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/fence-patrol-2017/willows-family","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fence Patrol Winner - Schwenck Family","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/fence-patrol-2017/schwenck-family","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fence Patrol Winner - Hyde Family","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/fence-patrol-2017/hyde-family","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Drowning Prevention Tips","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/drowning-prevention","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "University Education","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education","nodes":[{"text": "ASU gets $100M Gift","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/asu-100-million","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Mary Lou College of Educaton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/mary-lou-fulton-college-of-education","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "ASU Names Fulton Center","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/asu-fulton-center","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "BYU College Renamed","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/byu-college-renamed","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Youth Education","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education","nodes":[{"text": "Be KOOL Stay in School","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/be-kool-stay-in-school","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Teacher of the Week 2014-2015","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015","nodes":[{"text": "Teacher of the Year 2015 - Rachel MacDonald","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/teacher-of-the-year-2015","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Molly Singer","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/molly-singer","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Rae Ormsby","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/rae-ormsby","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Denise Murphy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/denise-murphy","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Janet Brown","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/janet-brown","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Cassandra Anderson","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/cassandra-anderson","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Amy Derryberry","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/amy-derryberry","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Tammi Hausman","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/tammi-hausman","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Mark Aralica","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/mark-aralica","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Rachel MacDonald","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/rachel-macdonald","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Stacey Orest","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/stacey-orest","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Steve Norton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/steve-norton","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Packs for Kids","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/Packs-For-Kids","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "S.O.S for Teachers School Supplies","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/sos-for-teacher-supplies","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Stuff The Bus 2016","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/stuff-the-bus-2016","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Youth Assistance Foundation","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/youth-assistance-foundation","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Noon Salute 2017-18","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017","nodes":[{"text": "March Winner Dobson HS","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/article317","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "February Winner Cocopah MS Jazz Choir","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/cocopah-jazz-choir","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "January Winner Camo Verde HS Concert Choir","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/campo-verde-concert-choir","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "December Winner Chaparral HS Symphonic Orchestra","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/chaparral-symphonic-orchestra","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "November Winner Moon Valley HS Vocal Ensemble","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/moon-valley-vocal-ensemble","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "September Winner Mesquite HS Marching Band","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/article303","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "NS Winner Chandler High School Band","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/chandler-hs-band","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "NS Winner Ironwood High School Excelsis Choir","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/noon-salute-2017/ironwood-excelsis-choir","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Books and Toys for Girls and Boys - 2017","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/books-and-toys-drive-2017","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Cause for Paws","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/cause-for-paws","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fly the Flag 2016","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/fly-the-flag-2016","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Philanthropy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy","nodes":[{"text": "2010 Hearthstone Humanitarian Award","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/hearthstone-humanitarian-award","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "50 Most Generous of 2007","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/50-most-generous","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Teaching Others How to Give","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/teaching-other-how-to-give","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Chronicles of Philanthropy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/chronicles-of-philanthropy","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Katrina Relief Efforts","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/katrina","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Non Profit Submission Form","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/non-profit-submission-form","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Mary Lou Fulton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/mary-lou","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Feed My Starving Children","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/fmsc","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":true,"selected":false},"backColor":"#CCCCCC"}]